Posted by: tinkande | April 21, 2010

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

IMG_1915
This coffee cake is a tried and true family favorite. I think it might be a requirement to know how to make it if you are in my mom’s family, and I have memories of enjoying this with my grandmother and great aunts around her kitchen table when I was little. This recipe originally comes from my Grandmother, but I have made some adjustments to it over the years to accommodate my preferences. Neither my roommate nor I are very fond of nuts in our baked goods, so I usually leave them out when I make this for just the two of us.

This recipe makes a fairly large cake, so I love to make it for weekend guests. We never have a problem finishing it all, but if you don’t want to eat it all at once, you can always store a hunk of it in the freezer for enjoyment later. It’s a great excuse to eat cake for breakfast!

Sour Cream Coffee Cake
Source: My Grandmother

For the filling/topping:
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon

For the cake:
1 cup sour cream, at room temperature
1 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat an oven to 350° F.

Combine the ingredients for the filling in a small bowl and set aside.

Cream the butter and sugar in a mixer until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat to incorporate well. Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mixture, and mix until just combined. Finally, add the sour cream and stir until incorporated.

Butter an 8-inch square cake pan and dust it lightly with flour.

Put about half of the batter in the cake pan, and sprinkle half of the cinnamon and sugar filling on top. Repeat with the second half of the batter and top with the remaining cinnamon and sugar.

Bake for about 30-45 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean when inserted into the center of the cake.  Allow the cake to rest in the pan until cool enough to handle.  Then remove it to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Responses

  1. Wish your grandmother had a computer. She would love seeing this.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

