Posted by: tinkande | April 25, 2011

Asian Chicken Lettuce Cups

I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to share this fabulous appetizer with you all.  As summer approaches I look forward to more gatherings and pot lucks with friends. I brought these fun lettuce wraps to a get together with some girlfriends a while ago, and they were a big hit.  I didn’t want anything too heavy, because I knew there would be a selection of other sweet and savory dishes to choose from, so these were the perfect thing.  They were packed with flavor, and the apple chunks added a surprising but welcome crunch.

At first, I was afraid that the ground chicken would get dried out, and I was thinking of making extra dipping sauce to go on the side.  However, I stayed true to the original recipe, and I’m glad I did because it was plenty saucy and delicious on its own.  I’m looking forward to making these again soon!

Asian Lettuce Cups with Ground Chicken
Source: Adapted from Steamy Kitchen

For the Sauce:
1-1/2 Tablespoons hoisin sauce
1 teaspoon soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
freshly ground black pepper

For the Filling:
1 Tablespoon Canola or vegetable oil
2 scallions
1/2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1 teaspoon finely minced garlic
1 pound ground chicken
2 cups mixed vegetables (frozen pea/carrots, finely diced bell peppers, etc.)
1/2 green apple, finely diced

For the Toppings and Wrap:
1 head boston bibb or butter lettuce, leaves washed and separated
2 medium carrots, shredded. I used my zesting tool to do this. You can also use a vegetable peeler to peel the carrot into paper thin strips. Then use a knife to further cut into very thin strands.

Combine the sauce ingredients in a small bowl.

To make the filling, heat the oil in a wok on high heat. When oil is hot, add scallions, ginger and garlic and fry for a few seconds until fragrant. Add chicken and fry until almost cooked through. Add the vegetables and cook for one minute more.  Add sauce ingredients to the pan, and simmer for one minute to thicken slightly.

Finally, add the apples and toss to coat.  Immediately remove from the heat and serve in lettuce cups topped with shredded carrot.

Responses

  1. Those look really delicious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

