Posted by: tinkande | July 17, 2011

Coconut Chocolate Macaroons

Coconut Chocolate Macaroons

I’ve been experimenting with my ice cream maker for the last several months, and the result has been a slowly growing container of egg whites in my fridge. I knew there were several possibilities for using them up: a cheese or chocolate soufflé, macarons (to be tried some day when I get up the nerve), or coconut macaroons. We are big fans of coconut at Chez Me and My Roommate, so I knew these coconut chocolate macaroons would be a great place to start.  After all, the recipe comes from David Lebovitz, the ice cream master whom I’ve been getting recipes from, so I knew it could be trusted.

I made a big batch of these thinking we’d eat a few and toss the rest in the freezer (what a great idea!).  Well, needless to say they never made it to the freezer before they made it to our mouths.  BUT the good news is that I still have plenty more egg whites to make another batch!

Coconut Chocolate Macaroons
Source: Adapted from  Ready for Dessert, David Lebovitz
Yield: 30 cookies

4 large egg whites
1 1/4 cups sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon honey
2 1/2 cups unsweetened coconut*
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped

Preheat a large skillet over low to moderate heat on the stove top.  Meanwhile, mix together the egg whites, sugar, salt, honey, coconut and flour in a bowl.  Add the mixture to the skillet and heat, stirring constantly, and scraping the bottom as you stir. When the mixture just begins to scorch at the bottom, remove from heat and stir in the vanilla. Transfer to a bowl and cool to room temperature. (At this point, the mixture can be chilled for up to one week, or frozen for up to two months.)

When ready to bake, line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat and preheat the oven to 350° F.

Form the dough into 1 1/2-inch mounds with your fingers and place, evenly spaced, on the baking sheet. Bake for 18-20 minutes, until deep golden brown. Cool completely.

To dip the macaroons in chocolate, melt the chocolate in a clean, dry bowl set over a pan of simmering water (or in a microwave.) Line a baking sheet with plastic wrap or a silicone baking mat. Dip the bottoms of each cookie in the chocolate and set the cookies on the baking sheet. Refrigerate 5-10 minutes, until the chocolate is set, and serve. Store in an air-tight container or freeze to enjoy later.

*Unsweetened coconut is available in most natural-food shops or you can purchase it online.

Coconut Chocolate Macaroons 2

Responses

  1. These look great! And as you said, a good way to use up egg whites! I also have a container in my fridge from making ice cream :)

  2. Nice cutting board!!

  3. I love macaroons but so may people I know are wishy washy about coconut! So I never make them. I think it’s time I just do it, though. For ME.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

