Posted by: tinkande | September 28, 2011

Creamed Corn

Creamed Corn

It’s September.  It’s officially fall.  But I just cannot bear to crack open my Thanksgiving issue of Fine Cooking just yet, and I’m ignoring the cans of pumpkin lurking in my pantry.  I’m clinging to the last days of summer for as long as I can. It happens every year. I suddenly realize that we will soon be without local, juicy tomatoes (you know – the ones that actually taste like tomatoes), stone fruit, precious herbs, and fresh sweet corn. I panic, resist moving on, and proceed to buy up every last thing that I can find until they’re no good anymore.

Am I the only one who does this? I know I’ll come around eventually. The weather will cool down, I’ll no longer cringe at the thought of turning the oven on, I’ll once again crave hearty soups and stews, braises, and root vegetables, and I’ll settle in for another winter filled with warm, satisfying meals.

But until then, I’m going to enjoy dishes like this creamed corn as much as possible. We first tried it alongside the ribs I made a few weeks ago, and we were immediately hooked. The unique flavor of the sweet corn combined with lime zest and cayenne pepper makes it very easy to eat more than one serving! I knew that I had to make it again, and fast. And when I made it again, I knew I’d have to make a double batch :-).

Perhaps you were smart and you squirreled away some fresh corn when it was in season. Perhaps you’re lucky and you live where you can still get great corn. Either way, I hope you’ll try this dish out. It’s definitely a keeper.

Creamed Corn
Source: Adapted from the Ad Hoc at Home Cookbook via Shutterbean
Serves 6

6 ears white or yellow corn, shucked (I prefer white corn, but either kind will work)
1 large lime
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
kosher salt
3/4 cup heavy cream
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1 1/2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh cilantro

With a sharp chef’s knife or serrated knife, carefully cut vertically down each ear of corn to slice the kernels off. Put the kernels in a large bowl. Then hold each cob over the bowl and use a spoon or the back of a knife to scrape any remaining corn and the milk from the cob.

Zest and juice the lime.

Melt the butter in a large frying pan over medium heat. Add the corn, 1 tablespoon of lime juice (or more to taste), and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Bring the mixture to a simmer. Then, reduce the heat to medium-low and continue to simmer until all of the liquid has evaporated, and the corn is beginning to sizzle, about 15 to 17 minutes.

Stir in the cream, cayenne, and lime zest and cook for 6 to 8 minutes more, or until the cream is absorbed by the corn. Remove the corn from the heat. Taste for seasonings, add more salt if desired, and stir in the cilantro.

Creamed Corn 2

Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this….I’ve been wantint to try it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

