Posted by: tinkande | November 22, 2008

Pesto Pinwheels

Pesto Pinwheels

We went to a party tonight and we needed a quick and easy thing to bring with us.  My “signature” pot luck item is crudite (veggies and dip).  Cheap, easy, and a nice supplement to the usual potluck fare.  I wanted to try something different this time.  I originally saw this appetizer on one of the food blogs that I frequent: Confections of a Foodie Bride.  They were pretty easy to make and the house smelled soooo good while they were baking.

Pesto Palmiers
1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
1/4 cup Pecorino Romano, finely grated (optional) (I used Parmesan)
1/2-3/4 cup pesto
1 egg
1 Tbsp water

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Sprinkle grated cheese onto parchment paper or counter (larger than 12×12 inches). Roll out the puff pastry on the counter (larger than 12×12 inches) into a 12×12 inch square.  Using an offset spatula, spread the pesto within 1/2 inch of each side of the pastry (you might use more or less than 1/2 cup). Using your spatula, make three indentations on the top edge of the dough at 3 inches, 6 inches, 9 inches to divide the sheet into quarters.

Fold the left and right edges of the puff pastry halfway to the center of the dough (to the closest quarter-mark indention). Fold the sides to the middle again until they’re almost touching. Fold the two halves together like a book.

img_05771img_05781

img_05791img_05801

At this point I popped the log into the freezer for about 20 minutes so that it would be easier to cut. Cut into 1/2 inch slices and place onto parchment-lined baking sheets (I didn’t line my baking sheets with parchment paper and it was fine). Whisk egg and water together and brush over the palmiers. Bake for 8 minutes, flip, and bake for an additional 6-8 minutes. Palmiers are best the day of baking.

Note: I found these to be a bit oily and it’s probably just because the pesto I used had more olive oil in it.  Next time I would make this with a pesto that had very little or no oil in it.  When I flipped them halfway through baking, I actually put them on a fresh cookie sheet because they were swimming in olive oil – gross.  I also like to create more dirty dishes for my roommate to clean up whenever possible.

Update:  We tried these again a few weeks later with olive tapenade, which I drained most of the liquid from.  They came out great, but they were a bit salty.  I’ll have to keep playing with these to come up with the perfect filling!

Responses

  1. Yeah, yeah…but were they good?

  2. GREAT PHOTOS!! These look so good. I’m with you on the dishes thing. My “roommate” will be VERY busy this week.

  3. K – Yes, they were very tasty!

  4. And how fabulous they were.


Leave a Reply

Categories

