Posted by: tinkande | December 21, 2008

Meet Betty & Cranberry Swirl Cake

img_0773

What? I can't hear you over the whir of awesome.

Look at how beautiful she is! We exchanged Christmas gifts a little early this year because we were going to be out of town.  My roommate gave me this beautiful KA mixer in RED!  She’s gorgeous and we named her Betty.

I couldn’t wait to put her to work so I decided to try out this new recipe for cranberry swirl cake from the blog Coconut and Lime.  We had frozen the whole cranberry sauce that we had left over after Thanksgiving hoping that we would be able to make something useful with it.  This recipe looked like the perfect thing!

img_0787

Cranberry Ribbon Cake
Source: Coconut and Lime
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 cup plain yogurt, at room (I used vanilla because that’s what we had)
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup whole berry cranberry sauce, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour or use a baking spray 1 bundt or tube pan.  In a large bowl, beat together eggs, butter, vanilla and sugar until well mixed. Slowly add in yogurt.  In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder and a dash of salt. Slowly incorporate into the yogurt batter. Mix thoroughly.  It might not look like you have enough batter to fill the pan, but you do.  It is not a super tall cake, but it will rise and have a great texture, I promise.  Spoon 1/2 of the batter into the prepared pan.  Smooth with the back of a spatula.  Carefully spoon the cranberry sauce to form a ring around the middle of the pan, without touching the middle or sides.  Top with the remaining batter and smooth with the back of a spatula.  Bake 35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean (ours took about 45 minutes to bake).  Cool in pan about 5 minutes, and then remove to a wire rack.  Slice and eat.

Responses

  1. […] it extremely moist.  Serve as is or spread with a little bit of cream cheese.  Now that we have Betty, I can almost make this faster than my roommate can eat […]

  2. betty is nice. i have a pink one. she doesn’t have a name, but i won her in a raffle. yeah, won her! i guess she could be a priscilla, but that just seems blah. maybe audrey. or jacqueline. hm, i guess im not so good at naming appliances.

  3. I LOVE that you named your kitchenaid!! I was so elated when I got my pink one….I guess I need to think of a name for it now. I’m excited that you are enjoying your xmas gift.

  4. My roommate likes Jacqueline. You could call her Jackie O.

  5. […] of the recipe from the Joneses, he decided to try out a new style from http://www.AllRecipes.com so Betty wouldn’t feel left out. Voulez-vous manger avec moi, ce […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

