Posted by: tinkande | January 24, 2009

Filet Mignon with a side of… ROCKS!

Hmm, looks like we have several different beverages going here...

There was a three drink minimum.

I had to work late, so my roommate offered to take care of dinner.  I wasn’t sure if it would be Fluffernutters or take-out, but I didn’t care because I knew I wouldn’t have to worry about it. I came home to a set table and a spotless kitchen.  My roommate had picked out a delicous-looking recipe from Giada for beef filets stuffed with proscuitto, cheese, and basil – yum!  He said that I’d have to help with the cooking but that he had picked up all of the ingredients at the store.  It sounded like a pretty good deal to me.  He started pulling all of the ingredients out of the fridge and showing them to me:
2 beef filets
Proscuitto
Romano cheese
Fresh Basil
Dry Sherry
…and one special ingredient, a Big Fat Diamond Ring!

So there my roommate was down on one knee right there in the middle of our kitchen and asking me to marry him.  I’m pretty sure I said something like “what is that?” or “are you kidding me?!”  I was in total shock, but of course I said “yes” as soon as I regained my composure.  We immediately put all of the ingredients back in the refrigerator and called Chef Sister and our parents to tell them the news. We didn’t end up eating dinner until about 10 pm, but it was a perfect evening!

Does this mean that we have to change the name of our blog?  Absolutely not, folks!  We will still be roommates, just married ones.  And until there’s a ring on his finger too, we’ll still be happily cooking and blogging in sin.

Proscuitto and Cheese Stuffed Filet Mignon
Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis’ recipe for Stuffed Lamb Tenderloin

2 (8-ounce) beef filets mignon
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 thin slices prosciutto
2 thin slices (about 1/2-ounce each) Pecorino Romano cheese
4 whole fresh basil leaves
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup dry sherry
1/2 cup low-sodium chicken stock
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves
1 Big Fat Diamond Ring (optional)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Using a paring knife, cut a 3-inch wide pocket, about 2-inches deep, into the side of each filet. Season the cavity with salt and pepper. Stuff 1 slice of prosciutto, 1 slice of cheese, and 2 basil leaves into each pocket. Season the stuffed tenderloins with salt and pepper.

In a large skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat, add the tenderloins and sear until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side. Transfer the tenderloins to an oiled baking pan. Roast for 5 minutes or until the internal temperature registers 120 degrees F on an instant-read thermometer for medium-rare.

While the beef filets are roasting:

Place the skillet over high heat, add the dry sherry, and cook for 1 minute, scraping the brown bits that cling to the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Add the chicken stock and cook until the liquid is reduced by half, about 4 minutes. Remove the skillet from the heat and whisk in the butter until melted. Spoon the sauce over the sliced tenderloin and garnish with the chopped basil.

Responses

  1. I like your table runner. Whoever picked it out has very nice taste. :o)

  2. Filet mignon + grand diamant = l’amour 🙂

  3. I enjoy the amount of precision in your blog.
    Where is the basil garnish?
    Congrats, again.

  4. Hmmm, I guess we’re not very precise after all. 🙂 I think we skipped the basil garnish because it was about 10:30 by the time we got around to eating. Haha.

  5. […] in Greensboro, VT, we were thirsty!  My parents had set aside a fancy Bordeaux to celebrate my rocky side dish from a few weeks ago, and it was quite an experience for a bunch of redneck oenophiles like us. Je […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

