Posted by: tinkande | November 10, 2009

Pan-fried Rib Eye Steak

IMG_2107

I'll have that with a side of angioplasty.

Me: “So, what should we have for dinner tonight? We have chicken – I could make a stir fry or something. We also have some ribeye steaks and ba….”
My Roommate (not waiting for me to finish my sentence): “Steak. Definitely steak.”

That settled it.  A true meat n’ potatoes dinner.  Classic, reliable, yummy, and easy!  We served these ribeyes with baked potatoes and green beans on the side.  I baked the potatoes in a 350 degree oven for about an hour.  Everything else took less than fifteen minutes to prepare!  We garnished the baked potatoes with the works: butter, salt, pepper, sour cream, cheddar cheese, and (because a full cut of ribeye wasn’t enough meat) bacon.  Wow – we’re lucky we’re still breathing!

Note: the amount of seasoning was a bit too salty for my tastes, but that could be just me.  It depends on what you like.

Pan-fried Ribeye Steak
Source: Cooking method inspired by The Pioneer Woman

2 ribeye steaks (about 8 oz. each), at least one inch thick
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 Tablespoon Montreal Steak Seasoning
1 Tablespoon butter
1 Tablespoon olive oil

Season the steaks with the salt and steak seasoning, massaging it into the meat.

Bring a skillet (I used my cast iron skillet, but anything other than a nonstick pan will do) to medium heat and add olive oil and butter. When the oil and butter are very hot, add the steak to the pan.

Cook for about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes on the first side and then flip and turn the heat down to a medium-low to finish off the cooking. Cook for about 2 minutes on the second side to yield a medium-rare piece of meat. Remove steaks, cover with foil, and allow them to rest for about five minutes before serving.

As The Pioneer Woman reminds us, you cannot “undo” over-cooked steak. It’s better to under-cook it and then toss it back in the pan if you want it more well-done.  I’m especially paranoid about over-cooking steak because I had an unfortunate – ahem – incident the first time I tried to cook one.  It was an apartment-filled-with-smoke, bounce-your-steak-off-the-floor fiasco and I swore I would never let that happen again.  I always cook steak for less time than recipes indicate to make sure that it’s cooked to our desired done-ness!

Leave a Reply

Categories

