Posted by: tinkande | April 13, 2010

Broiled or Grilled Artichokes with Garlic, Olive Oil, and Balsamic Vinegar

Almost every time I buy artichokes I end up making stuffed artichokes with them.  I would say that’s mostly out of habit, but also because I haven’t experimented with cooking them in any other way before. I wanted to try making something a little lighter, so I went in search of recipes for grilling or broiling them.  I didn’t really use a recipe to make these, but I did check my Joy of Cooking to determine cooking times. I also followed the cooking method that my sister used when she made grilled artichokes for a meal that we shared a few years ago. You could serve these with a little aoili for dipping, but I really don’t think it’s necessary. The artichokes were flavorful enough on their own.

Broiled Artichokes with Garlic, Olive Oil, and Balsamic Vinegar
Source: Me and My Roommate

Two large artichokes
2 lemons, one juiced, and one cut into quarters
1 bay leaf
6 whole peppercorns
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced
salt and pepper to taste

Fill a pot with 3 quarts of water and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile, fill a medium bowl with cold water and add the juice of one lemon. To prepare the artichokes, cut off the top third of each and then cut each into quarters. (Note: use a very sharp serrated knife to do this). Immerse the artichoke quarters in the lemon water (this will prevent them from browning.) Then, scrape out the chokes from the center of each quarter, returning them to the lemon water as you go.

Add the artichokes, lemon quarters, bay leaf, peppercorns, and two teaspoons kosher salt to the boiling water. Boil, uncovered, for about 5-10 minutes, or until tender but still firm. Drain and pat thoroughly dry.

Preheat a grill or broiler on high heat.  Combine the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and garlic in a small bowl. Arrange the artichoke quarters on a broiling pan or in a grill basket. Brush with the olive oil mixture and broil or grill until browned, about 5 minutes.

Responses

  1. Wow, looks like you guys have been doing quite a bit of cooking! These artichokes look awesome – would love to try them sometime!

  2. Great idea. I also, have only made stuffed artichokes before (orzo, tomatoes and feta cheese). I love the idea of serving it with aoili.

  3. Stumbled across this and gave it a try – super yummy! The artichokes I used are as big as a baby’s head – no joke – and some of the meat on the outer leaves didn’t get cooked. So, I’ll adjust the time a bit when I cook up the 2nd one tomorrow. But overall, awesome recipe. Thanks!

  4. I’m so glad you enjoyed them! Yes, those huge artichokes take longer to cook through – that’s happened to me before, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

