Posted by: tinkande | September 7, 2010

Watermelon Lemonade

Pretty in Pink!

At last! I have finally found a (delicious!) way to use up extra watermelon. I don’t know about you, but I have sadly thrown away (or sent to the compost pile) far too much overripe watermelon before we’ve had a chance to eat it. I still haven’t learned my lesson, because I keep purchasing whole watermelons! And so, I did it again a couple of weeks ago. I bought a beautiful, local watermelon with high hopes and before we knew it, it was a little too ripe to enjoy fresh. Hmmm, what to do? We were about to go out of town for the weekend, and I didn’t have much time, so I decided make and freeze watermelon puree and deal with it later! I was originally planning to make watermelon sorbet, but then I stumbled across this lemonade recipe. Making sorbet seemed like a LOT more work than juicing a few lemons, so the lemonade won. I definitely think I made the right decision – this was a great en-of-summer treat.

Watermelon Lemonade
Source: Smitten Kitchen
Serves 8

1 cup freshly-squeezed lemon juice
2 cups fresh watermelon puree*
3/4 cup simple syrup**
3 cups cold water

Stir all ingredients together in a large pitcher and serve over ice. Garnish with a lemon wedge if desired (I think mint would be great, too).

*For the watermelon puree: cube 4 cups of fresh watermelon (seeds removed). Puree the watermelon in batches in a blender until smooth. Strain through a fine strainer to remove any stray seeds and pulp.

**I always have a container of simple syrup in the refrigerator for iced coffee. It’s very easy to make: bring to a boil one cup each of water and granulated sugar. Reduce heat to low and simmer until the sugar has completely dissolved. Cool completely before using.

Endless possibilities:
Substitute about 1 1/2 cups of sparkling water for cold water for an effervescent version, or add a splash of vodka for an adult version.  Or both!

Leave a Reply

Categories

