Posted by: tinkande | January 30, 2011

Balsamic Vinaigrette

I have a major thing for balsamic vinegar. When I was younger I used to drink it by the spoonful. *Cringe.* I just couldn’t get enough of that perfect sweet and tangy punch of flavor.  I’m pretty sure that my parents thought I was crazy, but they were just beginning to get a glimpse of the craziness to come!

Growing up, our green salads were almost always dressed with my mother’s homemade vinaigrette, and I still do the same thing today. I have yet to find a store bought version that competes with this one, and because it’s so easy to make, I see no reason to mess with a good thing. It’s rich, full bodied, and extremely versatile. You can make it spicier with a little more garlic, tangier with a more vinegar or a splash of lemon juice, or  savory with some fresh chopped herbs. The results are different every time I make it, and that’s what I love about it.

So, before you reach for a bottle off of your grocery’s shelf, I hope you’ll consider giving this version a try!

Balsamic Vinaigrette
Source: Mom
Yield: About 1 cup

2 garlic cloves, peeled
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil (more or less to taste)

In a food processor, mince the garlic along with the salt and pepper. Add the mustard and vinegar. Turn the machine on, and while it’s running, slowly drizzle the olive oil in through the top opening until combined. Taste for seasonings, and add more salt and pepper if desired. This will last for several weeks stored in the refrigerator.

Responses

  1. Love it! I make this too and it’s so nice knowing there aren’t all those crazy chemicals and preservatives in your salad dressing. Also I totally covet that bottle – where did you get it?

  2. Nice picture Cait! Is that a wedding bottle?

  3. Container Store!


Leave a Reply

Categories

